LYGON COURT HISTORY & CONTACTS

380 Lygon Court is steeped in history.

The Holdsworth buildings that house 380 Lygon Court are of historical significance and are protected under the Victorian Heritage Act because they represent a fine example of mid-Victorian retail and residential development.


The verandah with its distinctive central bowed canopy is a rare survivor of this type of architecture that was once very common in Melbourne.


The original three shops with residences were erected in 1871 by John Daley, a local undertaker and designed by architect George R Johnson.


In 1908 Daley sold the buildings to another undertaker, Josiah Holdsworth, who ran his business in the buildings until 1972 and whom the buildings are named after making them also historically significant for their long association with the undertaking and funeral trade.


In the 1980s the Banco Group bought the buildings to incorporate them into the Lygon Court shopping complex.


The first tenants were Safeway/Woolworth's and they opened their doors October 10, 1988.  The Centre was later refurbished in 2002 allowing for Cinema Nova and Borders to be housed. Cinema Nova has since developed from two cinemas to an impressive 15 cinemas.  More recently, Lygon Court has seen much of the first floor developed into a medical precinct, which includes two medical clinics (with 11 GP's) & McKenzie Chiropractic.


However, Borders no longer exists. In it's place coming early 2013 will be the iconic Carlton pasticceria Brunetti Café. This world-renowned café is returning to it's original home after many years in Faraday Street.


Lygon Court now consists of over 28 specialty stores and cafes all within its fabulous facade.